

# THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN

# **GOVERNMENT GAZETTE**

**PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY** 

Adelaide, Monday, 20 April 2020

#### **CONTENTS**

All instruments appearing in this gazette are to be considered official, and obeyed as such

# **GOVERNOR'S INSTRUMENTS**

REGULATIONS

South Australia

# **COVID-19 Emergency Response (Section 16) Regulations 2020**

under the COVID-19 Emergency Response Act 2020

## Contents

- 1 Short title
- 2 Commencement
- 3 Interpretation
- 4 Statutory Declarations

Schedule 1—Persons who may take statutory declarations

#### **1—Short title**

These regulations may be cited as the COVID-19 Emergency Response (Section 16) Regulations 2020.

## 2—Commencement

These regulations come into operation on the day on which they are made.

#### **3—Interpretation**

In these regulations, unless the contrary intention appears-

Act means the COVID-19 Emergency Response Act 2020.

### 4—Statutory Declarations

In accordance with section 16 of the Act, requirements under any Act or law relating to the taking of a statutory declaration are modified such that the persons, and classes of person, who may take the declaration are those listed in Schedule 1.

# Schedule 1—Persons who may take statutory declarations

- (a) persons authorised to take a statutory declaration under the law of the State as in force immediately before the commencement of this Schedule;
- (b) agents of the Australian Postal Corporation in charge of an office supplying postal services to the public;
- (c) Australian Consular Officers or Australian Diplomatic Officers within the meaning of the *Consular Fees Act 1955* of the Commonwealth;
- (d) bailiffs;
- (e) bank officers with 5 or more continuous years of service;

- (f) building society officers with 5 or more years of continuous service;
- (g) chief executive officers of Commonwealth courts;
- (h) clerks of courts;
- (i) commissioners for taking affidavits;
- (j) commissioners for declarations;
- (k) credit union officers with 5 or more years of continuous service;
- (l) employees of the Australian Trade Commission who are—
  - (i) in a country or place outside Australia; and
  - (ii) authorised under paragraph 3(d) of the *Consular Fees Act 1955* of the Commonwealth; and
  - (iii) exercising his or her function in that place;
- (m) employees of the Commonwealth who are—
  - (i) in a country or place outside Australia; and
  - (ii) authorised under paragraph 3(c) of the *Consular Fees Act 1955* of the Commonwealth; and
  - (iii) exercising his or her function in that place;
- (n) fellows of the National Tax and Accountants' Association;
- (o) health practitioners;
- (p) finance company officers with 5 or more years of continuous service;
- (q) holders of a statutory office not specified in another item in this list;
- (r) Judges of courts;
- (s) Justices of the Peace;
- (t) Magistrates;
- (u) marriage celebrants registered under Subdivision C of Division 1 of Part IV of the *Marriage Act 1961* of the Commonwealth;
- (v) Masters of court;
- (w) members of Governance Institute of Australia;
- (x) members of Engineers Australia, other than at the grade of student;
- (y) members of the Association of Taxation and Management Accountants;
- (z) members of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy;
- (za) a member of the Australian Defence Force who is-
  - (i) an officer; or
  - (ii) a non-commissioned officer within the meaning of the *Defence Force Discipline Act 1982* of the Commonwealth with 5 or more years of continuous service; or
  - (iii) a warrant officer within the meaning of that Act;
- (zb) members of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia, CPA Australia (Certified Public Accountants) or the Institute of Public Accountants;

- (zc) Members of—
  - (i) the Parliament of the Commonwealth; or
  - (ii) the Parliament of a State; or
  - (iii) a Territory legislature; or
  - (iv) a local government authority of a State or Territory;
- (zd) ministers of religion registered under Subdivision A of Division 1 of Part IV of the *Marriage Act 1961* of the Commonwealth;
- (ze) notary public;
- (zf) patent attorneys or trade marks attorneys;
- (zg) permanent employees of the Australian Postal Corporation with 5 or more years of continuous service who are employed in an office supplying postal services to the public;
- (zh) permanent employees of-
  - (i) the Commonwealth or a Commonwealth authority; or
  - (ii) a State or Territory or a State or Territory authority; or
  - (iii) a local government authority,

with 5 or more years of continuous service who are not specified in another item in this list;

- (zi) persons enrolled on the roll of the Supreme Court of a State or Territory, or the High Court of Australia, as a legal practitioner (however described);
- (zj) police officers;
- (zk) Registrars, or Deputy Registrars, of a court;
- (zl) Senior Executive Service employees of—
  - (i) the Commonwealth or a Commonwealth authority; or
  - (ii) a State or Territory or a State or Territory authority;
- (zm) sheriffs;
- (zn) sheriff's officers;
- (zo) teachers employed on a full-time basis at a school or tertiary education institution;
- (zp) veterinary surgeons.
- Note—

As required by section 10AA(2) of the *Subordinate Legislation Act 1978*, the Minister has certified that, in the Minister's opinion, it is necessary or appropriate that these regulations come into operation as set out in these regulations.

#### Made by the Governor

with the advice and consent of the Executive Council on 20 April 2020

No 47 of 2020

# South Australia

# **COVID-19 Emergency Response (Section 17) Regulations 2020**

under the COVID-19 Emergency Response Act 2020

# Contents

- 1 Short title
- 2 Commencement
- 3 Interpretation
- 4 Witnessing of documents

### 1—Short title

These regulations may be cited as the COVID-19 Emergency Response (Section 17) Regulations 2020.

#### 2—Commencement

These regulations come into operation on the day on which they are made.

#### 3—Interpretation

In these regulations, unless the contrary intention appears-

Act means the COVID-19 Emergency Response Act 2020.

### **4**—Witnessing of documents

Section 17 of the Act does not apply to a requirement that a person be physically present to witness the signing, execution, certification or stamping of a document or to take any oath, affirmation or declaration in relation to a document.

#### Note—

As required by section 10AA(2) of the *Subordinate Legislation Act 1978*, the Minister has certified that, in the Minister's opinion, it is necessary or appropriate that these regulations come into operation as set out in these regulations.

#### Made by the Governor

with the advice and consent of the Executive Council on 20 April 2020

No 48 of 2020

All instruments appearing in this gazette are to be considered official, and obeyed as such