South Australian Government Gazette

The official publication of the South Australian Government

Gazette History

South Australia’s first newspaper—the South Australian Gazette and Colonial Register—was printed on 18 June 1836.

Based in London, the privately owned company Thomas and Co. relied on a hand-driven Stanhope Press and a staff of only two men. 

Front page of the first South Australian Gazette and Colonial Register, London, 1836

When colonisation of Australia was proclaimed, the print operation moved to Hindley Street, Adelaide.

Founders of the newspaper, Robert Thomas and George Stevenson (Secretary to Governor Hindmarsh), earned a reputation for their biased political stance. Consequently, on 15 June 1839, the rights to publishing government proceedings was legally restricted. 

The South Australian Gazette was established on 20 June 1839, initially printed by Archibald MacDougall, then Andrew Murray, followed by John Stephens.

Front page of the first South Australian Gazette, Adelaide, 1839

Due to Thomas and Co. issuing an unauthorised Gazette on 12 November 1840, Parliament renamed its official publication the South Australian Government Gazette.

To authenticate future periodicals, the Government Printing Office was formed in 1849 at Victoria Square, Adelaide.

William Caddy Cox was appointed the first Government Printer on 12 April 1849, operating steam-driven presses with a staff of three men, a boy, and a horse. This proclamation initiated consistent printing of the Gazette each Thursday.

Through necessary expansion, the Government Printing Office later relocated to King William Road, behind the current Parliament House.

Government Printing Office, King William Road, Adelaide, 1880
-photo courtesy of the State Library of South Australia-

With added space, the print department was able to upgrade their technology to Intertype Hot Metal Typesetting Machines and begun publishing Hansard (Parliamentary Debates) from 1914.

Government Printing Office, King William Road, Adelaide, circa 1908
-photo courtesy of the State Library of South Australia-

Due to renovations of the building, the Government Printing Office moved to the Netley Complex in 1974 and was renamed State Print.

From 1993, government publications were reassigned to Riverside 2000 and based on North Terrace for convenient liaison with Parliament staff. 

In the year 2000, the print unit was restructured and titled Government Publishing SA. 

Government Publishing SA, North Terrace, Adelaide, 2015

Another reform enhanced the State Government's publishing capabilities in 2016 and the South Australian Government Gazette was adapted for online accessibility. 

As of 28 February 2017, the Gazette publication was rescheduled to Tuesdays, in line with the altered Executive Council meeting agenda. Following a further change in Government on 12 April 2018, the Gazette schedule reverted to Thursdays.