South Australian Government Gazette

The official publication of the South Australian Government

Historic Shipwreck Protected Zone

Thursday, July 5, 2018

Notice under Section 7(1)

I, DAVID JAMES SPEIRS, the Minister for Environment and Water, hereby declare a protected zone pursuant to section 7(1) of the Historic Shipwrecks Act 1981, in order to adequately conserve and protect the South Australian.

Name by which remains commonly known:

South Australian

Parallel of Latitude and meridian of Longitude at the intersection of which remains are located:

35° 34.641’ South 138° 36.213’ East

Description of Protected Zone:

A circular area of sea having a radius of 30 metres centred on the location of the remains as set out in this schedule

General Provisions:

A person shall not:

bring into a protected zone equipment constructed or adapted for the purposes of diving, salvage or recovery operations, or explosives, instruments or tools, the use of which would be likely to damage or interfere with an historic shipwreck or historic relic situated within that protected zone;

use any such equipment, explosives, instruments or tools within a protected zone;

cause a ship carrying such equipment, explosives, instruments or tools to enter, or remain within, a protected zone;

trawl, dive or engage in any other underwater activity, within a protected zone;

moor or use a vessel within a protected zone,

except in accordance with a permit granted by the Minister under section 15 of the Historic Shipwrecks Act 1981.

Dated: 3 July 2018

D. J. Speirs
 Minister for Environment and Water